Follow us on Flickr Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook

Technisches Team

 

Harry Anthony, BSc, MSc Engineering Mechanics, PEng
Chief Operating Officer, Vorstandsmitglied

Herr Anthony ist ein international anerkannter Experte in der Uranindustrie. Er arbeitet seit 36 Jahren als Ingenieur und ist seit 30 Jahren in zahlreichen Aspekten in der Uranindustrie an vorderster Front dabei.

Herr Anthony ist besonders als ein Pionier der innovativen Uranextraktionstechnologie, der sogenannten In-Situ-Gewinnung oder ISR (In-Situ-Recovery) angesehen. Unter den zurzeit angewandten Methoden der Uranförderung hat sich ISR als die kostengünstigste und umweltfreundlichste erwiesen. Er war an jedem wichtigen ISR-Uranminen-Projekt in den USA und im Ausland in allen Entwicklungsstufen beteiligt, einschließlich Durchführbarkeit, Gestaltung, Betrieb und Management.

Herr Anthony war Senior Officer und Vorstandsmitglied von Uranium Resources Inc. („URI“), einer Aktiengesellschaft, die in den USA ein bedeutender Uranförderer ist. Während seiner 20-jährigen Beschäftigung bei URI war er für alle technischen Aspekte der Minenentwicklung verantwortlich. Er erbrachte auch technische Dienstleistungen und erstellte Minenpläne für Union Carbide, Urangesellschaft, Kennecott, Rio Algom, Heathgate Resources und andere.

Herr Anthony ist zu allen Themen rund um Uran ein gefragter Referent; er hat zahlreiche Arbeitsdokumente für führende, international anerkannte Organisationen einschließlich IAEA verfasst und präsentiert. Er ist ein aktuelles und ehemaliges Mitglied verschiedener Berufsverbände aus dem Uransektor. Herr Anthony hat einen Abschluss als BSc und MSc in technischer Mechanik an der Pennsylvania State University erlangt.

 



 

Clyde Yancey, BSc, MSc Geology, PGeo
Vizepräsident der Abteilung Exploration

Im Rahmen seiner Tätigkeit als Vizepräsident der Abteilung Exploration ist Herr Yancey für sämtliche in Südtexas und in anderen Bundesstaaten durchgeführte Explorationsprojekte zuständig. Mit Beginn der Produktion, wobei die Erschließung einen großen Teil der Unternehmenstätigkeit ausmacht, wird er sicherstellen, dass die Explorationsprojekte des Unternehmens Priorität haben und sich schnell weiterentwickeln werden.

1975 schloss Herr Yancey sein Studium an der Trinity-Universität, San Antonio/Texas mit einem BSc-Abschluss in Geologie ab, seinen MSc-Abschluss in Geologie erhielt er 1978 von der School of Mines and Technology in South Dakota. Die berufliche Laufbahn von Herrn Yancey begann 1978 bei USGS im Bereich Uran- und Thoriumressourcen. Bis zum Jahr 1989 war er in der Uranerschließung tätig und arbeitete für Wyoming Minerals Corporation, Caithness Mining Corporation, Mobil Oil und Moore Energy in den Bereichen Erschließung und In-Situ-Bergbauproduktion. Zwischen 1989 und 2005 konzentrierte sich Herr Yancey im Auftrag von Bergbauunternehmen, Regierungsbehörden und First Nations auf Rekultivierungsuntersuchungen in diversen Uranabgängen im Südwesten der Vereinigten Staaten. Seit Januar 2006 ist er Mitglied des UEC-Teams und ist gegenwärtig in Wyoming und Texas als Registered Professional Geologist registriert.

 

 



 

Robert Underdown BSc
Vizepräsident der Abteilung Produktion

Herr Underdown war maßgeblich daran beteiligt, die Hobson-Aufbereitungsanlage und das Palangana-Projekt bis hin zur Produktion zu bringen.

Herr Underdown nahm seit 1978 leitende Funktionen bei ISR-Uranminen in Texas ein und verfügt über umfangreiche Erfahrung in den Bereichen Planung, Verwaltung und Rekultivierung von ISR-Uranminen. Im Laufe seiner Karriere war Herr Underdown für Regulierungsbehörden in Texas, insbesondere im Zusammenhang mit der ISR-Uranproduktion tätig. Dies umfasste u. a. die Leitung der Koordination von hunderten Minenarbeitern, Personen- und Umweltschutz.

 



 

Andrew Kurrus, BSc, MSc
Chefgeologe, Texas

Herr Kurrus ist ein professioneller Geologe, der sich auf die Entdeckung von wirtschaftlichen Uranlagerstätten in Südtexas spezialisiert. Er kann eine eindrucksvolle 30-jährige Karriere in Südtexas vorweisen, die 1978 bei Intercontinental Energy Corp begann. Später arbeitete er bei anderen namhaften Uranbergbau-Gesellschaften: Pioneer Nuclear, Tenneco, Malapai, Total und Cogema.

Sowohl bei Cogema Mining (heute: Areva) als auch vor kurzem bei Mesteña Uranium LLC (Eigentümer der Alta Mesa ISR-Uranmine) entdeckte er bei laufenden ISR-Arbeiten vorher unbekannte Erzvorkommen, die wesentlich zur Wirtschaftlichkeit dieser Projekte beitrugen. Herr Kurrus ist als Professional Geologist registriert; er erhielt seinen BSc und MSc in Geologie von der University of Arkansas.

 



 

Ed Brezinski, BSc, MBA
Vizepräsident der Abteilung Marketing und Vertrieb

Herr Brezinski  ist für die laufenden Geschäftsbeziehungen mit Versorgungs- und Uranwaren-Brokern und die Abwicklung der Uranvermarktungsaktivitäten des Unternehmens verantwortlich.

Herr Brezinski verfügt über mehr als 25 Jahre Berufserfahrung in Versorgungsunternehmen sowie mit Kernbrennstoffhändlern- und Brokern. Seine Erfahrungen konzentrieren sich vorwiegend auf die Bereiche Marketing-, Handel- und Broker-Tätigkeiten im Zusammenhang mit Uran- und relevanten Produkten, Marktanalyse, Bestandsverwaltung und Beschaffung und Vertragsabschluss für Kernbrennstoff- und Brennstoff-Dienstleistungen sowie weitere grundlegende Kernkraftwerk-Dienstleistungen. Während seiner Tätigkeit bei dem Unternehmen Northeast Utilities war er als Haupteinkäufer für Urankonzentrate sowie für Umwandlungs-, Anreicherungs- und Produktionsdienstleistungen zuständig. Darüber hinaus arbeitete er als Haupthändler bzw. -broker für die Trading- und Brokerage-Unternehmen UG USA, Nukem Inc und NYNCO. Vor seinem Eintritt bei Uranium Energy Corp. fungierte Herr Brezinski als Vizepräsident der Abteilung Nuclear Fuel Supply für das an der NYSE-Börse notierte Unternehmen Energy Solutions Inc. Er hat einen Bachelor of Science in Radiological Health Physics und einen MBA in Finanzwesen und International Business. 

 



 

Leonard Garcia, RPL
Vizepräsident der Abteilung Land

Das Unternehmen ist erfreut, Herrn Garcia als neuen Vizepräsidenten der Abteilung Land begrüßen zu dürfen. Herr Garcia ist Independent Professional Landman und verfügt über dreißig Jahre Erfahrung in den Bereichen Mineraltitelforschung, Pachtverhandlungen und -übernahmen, Farm-Out-Verträge, Exploration und Produktion. Herr Garcia war vertraglich für Sun Oil Company, Oryx Energy, Texaco, Monsanto Exploration and Production Company, Harkins & Company, Trans Texas Energy und Kerr-McGee Oil and Gas Corp. tätig. Er ist Registered Professional Landman und Mitglied der American Association of Professional Landmen und der Austin Professional Landmen’s Association. 



 

Greg Kroll   
Technischer Leiter Hobson

Herr Kroll hat 25 Jahre Erfahrung im Bereich Wellfield-Betrieb und Uranverarbeitung in den USA.

Er begann seine Karriere in der Uranbranche im Jahr 1979, während er die High School besuchte. Nach seinem Abschluss erhielt er eine Vollzeitbeschäftigung im Bereich Wartung/Instandhaltung und arbeitete sich zu seiner jetzigen Stellung hoch. Er war bei Everest Minerals Corp., Rio Algom Mining Corp., Energy Metals Corp., Uranium One und Uranium Energy angestellt. Er trug in dieser Zeit die Verantwortung für das Wartungs-, Bau- und Betriebspersonal. Seine Aufgabe in der Hobson-Anlage bestand in der Beaufsichtigung der Aufräum- und Umbauarbeiten der Everest Minerals-Aufbereitungsanlage, sodass sie dem neuesten Stand der Technik entspricht. Er hatte eine Reihe verschiedener Lizenzen und Zertifikate und hat momentan eine Journeyman Lineman's License.

 



 

Doug Winters
Senior Chemist

Herr Winters hat einen Magister in Chemie von der University of Texas und hat mehr als 25 Jahre Erfahrung in technischem Projektmanagement und Umweltüberwachung einschließlich analytischer Chemie, Strahlenschutz und Umweltüberwachungs-Dienstleistungen für die Urangewinnungs- und Verarbeitungsbranche. Er hat eine 20-jährige Erfahrung im Bereich Entwicklung und Nutzung von Managementinformationssystemen zur Überwachung, Planung und Abrechnung tausender einzelner analytischer- und Aufgabenzuordnungen für die US-amerikanische EPA und für die Urangewinnungs- und Verarbeitungsbranche. Herr Winters hat ein modernes, automatisiertes analytisches Labor eingerichtet, um die In-Situ-Urangewinnung in den Südtexas-Projekten von Uranium Energy zu unterstützen.

 



 

Aiguo Bian, Ph.D
Geologe Minenentwicklung

Dr. Bian ist A BS-Absolvent in Struktureller Geologie an der Peking-Universität und erzielte später den PhD-Abschluss in Geologie von der Texas A&M University. Er bringt sein Fachwissen und seine Dissertation über den Stofftransport in einem Grundwasserleiter/Grundwasserstauer-System von der Hochschule in die Uran-ISR-Industrie.

In China sowie in mehreren wissenschaftlichen Publikationen in Nordamerika wurden zahlreiche Arbeiten von Dr. Bian veröffentlicht. Bevor er zu UEC kam war Dr. Bian Gastprofessor am Department of Physics and Geosciences an der Texas A&M University in Kingsville. Dr. Bians Computerkenntnisse über die Modellierung struktureller Geologie und Solute Aquifer-Systeme ergänzen UECs Team als führendes Urangewinnungs- und verarbeitungsunternehmen.



 

Bill Mcknight 
Produktionsleiter Geologie

Herr McKnight ist ein Registered Professional Geologist mit mehr als 35 Jahren Erfahrung in allen Aspekten der Uranextraktion. 1978 hat er bei der Gründung von Uranium Resources Inc. („URI”) geholfen und hatte im Laufe der folgenden zwanzig Jahre verschiedene Stellungen innerhalb URI, darunter Executive Vice President, Senior Vice President, Operations, Chief Operating Officer und Director. Er führte URIs Betriebe in Südtexas und New Mexico, die zwei Uranproduktions-Sickeranlagen umfassten. Von 1968 bis 1977 hatte er verschiedene Positionen bei Mobil Oil Corp., darunter Uranium Operations Manager. Herr McKnight hat einen B.Sc. in Geologie vom Centenary College in Shreveport, Louisiana und einen M.Sc. in Sedimentärer Geologie von der Florida State University.



 

Robert Gaston
Landman

Herr Gaston wuchs in der Öl- und Gasbranche von Houston, Texas auf. Er besuchte das Schreiner College und die University of Texas, bevor er eine Offshore-Flotte von Versorgungsschiffen für Southern Marine Drilling kommandierte, die für die Belco Oil & Gas Corp. in Südamerika arbeitete. Er war ein Landman für Marine Drilling in Corpus Christi, Texas, bevor er 1985 ein unabhängiger Petroleum Landman wurde. Herr Gaston leitete viele Jahre lang den Bereich Flächenbedarf der Blair Vreeland Oil Company in Corpus Christi, während er gleichzeitig unabhängige Grundstücksdienstleistungen für eine Reihe von Öl- und Gaskunden in Südtexas zur Verfügung stellte. Noch vor kurzem arbeitete Herr Gaston als firmeninterner Landman für Uranium Resources Inc., bevor er 2010 zu Uranium Energy kam.



 

Rick Edge
Geologe

Fachmann für Exploration mit 15 Jahren Erfahrung in der gesamten Rocky Mountains-Region



 

Brad Moore, BBA
Spezialist im Bereich Exploration und Bodenbesitzstruktur

Herr Moore erlangte seinen BBA an der Universität von Oklahoma im Jahr 1976, mit Marketing als Hauptfach und Geologie als Nebenfach. Er besuchte auch zahlreiche Kurse und Symposien zu Uran und Kernenergie an der Colorado School of Mines. Von 1978 bis 1981 erschloss Herr Moore bei Rio Alto Minerals den Uranerzkörper West Cole in Webb County, Texas, bis er von Tenneco erworben wurde. Von 1982 bis 1990 war er bei Moore Energy für die Erschließung zahlreicher Uranerzkörper in Texas und Wyoming zuständig.



 

Curtis O. Sealy, MSc and BSc Civil Engineering, PEng
Vizepräsident der Abteilung Sicherheit am Arbeitsplatz und Umwelt

Herr Sealy befasst sich im Rahmen seiner Tätigkeit mit allen Belangen von Hobson, Palangana und Goliad im Zusammenhang mit Umweltschutz und Sicherheit am Arbeitsplatz.

Herr Sealy ist zugelassener Ingenieur mit 40-jähriger internationaler Erfahrung in der Planung und Konstruktion von Minen und anderen groß angelegten Bauprojekten. Während der vergangenen 20 Jahre arbeitete er für Uranbergbau- und erschließungsunternehmen. Herr Sealy verfügt über eine umfassende Erfahrung in der Planung, Entwicklung, Konstruktion und in der Qualitätskontrolle/Qualitätssicherung für große Bauprojekte, darunter Minen, petrochemische Einrichtungen, Dämme, Hafenarbeiten und Projekte der Deponieland-, Grundwasser- und Flächenrückgewinnung. Er ist ein anerkannter Experte für Erdbauwerke und Bodenverbesserungstechniken und hat zahlreiche Arbeiten in diesem Fachbereich verfasst. Herr Sealy arbeitete 17 Jahre lang für Umetco Minerals Corp, eine Tochtergesellschaft von Union Carbide und großer Uranproduzent in Wyoming, Colorado und Utah, wo er alle Aspekte der Einhaltung von aufsichtsrechtlichen Vorschriften und Umweltsanierung leitete. Bis vor kurzem war er als Vizepräsident der Abteilung Environmental and Regulatory Affairs für Energy Metals Corp., ein Uranexplorations- und Erschließungsunternehmen tätig, welches 2007 von Uranium One erworben wurde.

Follow us on Flickr Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook

About Us

Signup to receive press releases and updates.* denotes required field

Technical Team

 

Harry Anthony, BSc, MSc Engineering Mechanics, PEng
Senior Advisor

Mr. Anthony is an internationally recognized expert in the uranium industry. Mr. Anthony has been a professional engineer for 36 years, the latter 30 of which, he has been at the forefront of multiple aspects of the uranium industry.

Mr. Anthony is particularly noted as being a pioneer of the emerging extraction technology for the uranium mining sector known as In Situ Recovery, or ISR. ISR is a significantly less costly and less environmentally obtrusive technique for mining uranium than any other method currently in use. He has been involved with every notable ISR uranium mine in the US and abroad, at all levels of development, including feasibility, design, operations, and management.

Mr. Anthony was a senior officer and director of Uranium Resources Inc. ("URI"), a public company and a significant uranium producer in the US. During his 20-year tenure at URI he was responsible for all technical aspects of mine development. He has also provided technical services and mine plans for Union Carbide, Urangesellschaft, Kennecott, Rio Algom, Heathgate Resources, and others.

Mr. Anthony is a sought-after speaker on uranium and related issues, having written and presented numerous reference papers on behalf of leading internationally recognized bodies including the IAEA. He is a current and past member of several professional uranium-related societies. Mr. Anthony has a BSc and MSc in Engineering Mechanics from Pennsylvania State University.

 
 

Clyde Yancey, BSc, MSc Geology, PGeo
Vice President of Exploration

Mr. Yancey is responsible for all of the Company's exploration projects, including those in South Texas and other states.  With the commencement of production, and with development occupying a good portion of the Company's efforts, he will ensure that the Company's exploration projects remain a priority and advance at a rapid pace.

Mr. Yancey received his BSc in Geology from  Trinity   University San Antonio Texas  in 1975, and his MSc in Geology from the South Dakota School of Mines and Technology in 1978. Mr. Yancey began his professional career with the USGS, Uranium and Thorium Resources Branch, in 1978.  He continued working in uranium development through 1989 while employed in exploration and in-situ mining production for Wyoming Minerals Corporation, Caithness Mining Corporation, Mobil Oil, and Moore Energy. From 1989 to 2005, Mr. Yancey concentrated on reclamation investigations at various uranium mill tailings sites throughout the southwest  United States  for mining companies, government agencies and First Nations. He has served as a member of the UEC team since January 2006, and is currently a Registered Professional Geologist in Wyoming and Texas.

 
 

Robert Underdown BSc
Vice President of Production & Operations

Mr. Underdown has been instrumental in bringing the Hobson processing facility and Palangana project through to production.

Mr. Underdown has held senior operational positions at ISR uranium mines in  Texas  since 1978, and he has extensive experience designing, managing and reclaiming ISR uranium mines.  Throughout his career, Mr. Underdown has worked with the regulatory agencies in  Texas  specifically pertaining to ISR uranium production, and this includes the responsibilities of managing hundreds of mine personnel and looking after their safety and that of the environment.

 
 

Andrew Kurrus, BSc, MSc
Vice President of Resource Development

Mr. Kurrus is a professional geologist specializing in the discovery of economic uranium deposits in South Texas. Mr. Kurrus has an impressive 30-year career in South Texas beginning with Intercontinental Energy Corp  in 1978 followed by other notable uranium mining companies: Pioneer Nuclear, Tenneco, Malapai, Total, and Cogema .

While at Cogema Mining (now Areva), and most recently at Mesteña Uranium LLC (owner of the Alta Mesa ISR uranium mine), he discovered previously unknown ore body extensions at existing ISR operations that contributed significantly to the economics of those projects. Mr. Kurrus is registered as a Professional Geologist; he received his BSc and MSc in Geology from the University of Arkansas.

 
 

Leonard Garcia, RPL
Vice President of Land

The Company is pleased to welcome Mr. Garcia to the new position of Vice President of Land.  Mr. Garcia is an independent professional landman with over thirty years of experience in mineral title research, lease negotiations and acquisitions, farm-out contracts and exploration and production. Mr. Garcia has worked under contract for Sun Oil Company, Oryx Energy, Texaco,  Monsanto Exploration and Production Company, Harkins & Company, Trans Texas Energy and Kerr-McGee Oil and Gas Corp. He is a Registered Professional Landman and a member of the American Association of Professional Landmen and the Austin Professional Landmen's Association. 

 
 

Craig Bordovsky, BSc, PEng
Engineering Manager

Mr. Bordovsky gained his B.S. Degree in Civil Engineering from Texas A&M-Kingsville in 2004 and became a licensed Professional Engineer (P.E.) in the State of Texas in 2009. He joined UEC in 2008 as Engineering Manager and oversees all engineering aspects of the Company's exploration operations, permitting activities, construction projects, production operations, and restoration activities. Mr. Bordovsky is responsible for the preparation of design packages for satellite plants, for permitting and construction purposes, including the recently constructed Palangana Mine. He also develops various financial models to help theoretically estimate a mine's life from conception to reclamation.

 
 

Craig Wall, BSc
Environmental, Health and Safety Officer

Mr. Wall received his BSc from the San Houston State University in 1999. Previously he served as a Safety Specialist at the M.D.Anderson Cancer Centre in Texas, Safety Coordinator for the City of Corpus Christi, and later served as Environmental Health and Safety Supervisor for Mestena Uranium, L.L.C between 2005-2010 where he planned the company's environmental health and safety programs and organized a team that assembled two Production Area Authorization applications. He offers a diverse knowledge of environmental, health and safety regulations along with permit drafting, revision and renewal experience pertaining to uranium in situ recovery.

 
 

Greg Kroll   
Hobson Superintendent

Mr. Kroll has 25 years experience in wellfield operations and uranium processing in the U.S.

He began his career in uranium in 1979 while attending high school. After graduation he was employed full time in a maintenance position and worked his way to his current position. He has been employed by Everest Minerals Corp., Rio Algom Mining Corp., Energy Metals Corp., Uranium One and Uranium Energy. He has been in charge of maintenance, construction and operations crews along the way. Mr. Kroll was placed in charge at Hobson to oversee the cleanup and reconstruction of the Everest Minerals processing facility into a state of the art processing plant. He has held several licenses and certificates and currently holds a Journeyman Lineman's License.

 
 

Doug Winters
Senior Chemist

Mr. Winters holds a Masters in Chemistry from the University of Texas and has over 25 years experience in technical project management and environmental monitoring including analytical chemistry, radiation safety, and environmental monitoring services to the uranium mining industry. He has 20 years of experience in developing and using management information systems to monitor, schedule, and account for thousands of individual analytic and task assignments for the US EPA and for the uranium mining industry. Mr. Winters has established a modern automated analytical laboratory to support in-situ uranium mining at Uranium Energy's South Texas projects.

 
 

Rick Edge, BSc
Senior Geologist

Mr. Edge received his BSc from Oklahoma State University in 1985. He has 15 years of experience in developing and acquiring properties in the western U.S. As a Senior Geologist, he leads and manages in all exploration and property development activities. Mr. Edge specializes in Colorado Plateau, and Basin and Range uranium deposits, and is responsible for increasing UEC's uranium/vanadium resources in the western US region.

Mr. Edge directs and conducts field mapping, mine surveying, down-hole geophysical logging, and resource modeling. He manages multiple projects in AZ, NM, UT, and WY; from the initial land work (surface access agreements, mineral leases, claim staking, and property acquisitions) to resource development and publication.

 
 

Aiguo Bian, Ph.D
Mine Development - Geologist

A BS graduate in Structural Geology from Beijing University, China, and later a PhD Geology from Texas A&M University, Dr. Bian brings his understanding and dissertation on the Solute Transport in an Aquifer Aquitard System from academia to the uranium ISR industry.

Dr. Bian is widely published in China as well as in various scholarly publications in North America. Prior to joining UEC Dr. Bian was Visiting Professor in the Department of Physics and Geosciences at the Texas A&M University - Kingsville. Dr. Bian's computer abilities in modeling structural geology and solute aquifer systems further augments UEC's team as a  leading  uranium mining company.

 
 

Robert Gaston
Landman

Mr. Gaston grew up in the Oil and Gas industry of Houston, Texas. He attended Schreiner College and the University of Texas before managing an offshore fleet of supply vessels for Southern Marine Drilling, operating for Belco Oil & Gas Corp. in South America. He was a landman for Marine Drilling in Corpus Christi, Texas before becoming an independent petroleum landman in 1985. Mr. Gaston managed the land requirements of Blair Vreeland Oil Company in Corpus Christi for many years while providing independent land services for a number of Oil and Gas Clients in South Texas. Most recently, Mr. Gaston served as the in-house landman for Uranium Resources Inc. before joining Uranium Energy in 2010.

 
 

Curtis O. Sealy, MSc and BSc Civil Engineering, PEng
Vice President of Strategic Development

Mr. Sealy is focused on all EH&S issues at Hobson, Palangana and Goliad.

Mr. Sealy is a registered professional engineer who has 40 years of experience with the construction of mines and other large-scale engineering projects internationally.  For the past 20 years, he has served with uranium mining and development companies.  Mr. Sealy has broad experience designing, developing, constructing and providing quality control and quality assurance for large-scale engineering projects, including mines, petrochemical facilities, dams, harbor works, landfills and groundwater and surface reclamation projects.  He is a recognized expert on earth structures and ground improvement techniques, and has authored numerous papers in his field of expertise.  Mr. Sealy served 17 years with Umetco Minerals Corp, a subsidiary of Union Carbide, and a large uranium producer in Wyoming, Colorado, and Utah, where he managed all aspects of regulatory compliance and environmental remediation.  More recently, he served as Vice President of Environmental and Regulatory Affairs for Energy Metals Corp., a uranium exploration and development company acquired by Uranium One in 2007.